ARIZONA

When is the next full moon? What to know about the January 2023 'wolf moon'

Raphael Romero Ruiz
Arizona Republic
View Comments

The "wolf moon" will be the first full moon of 2023 and it will be visible later this week when it is directly opposite the sun. The best time to see the lunar event will be when the moonrise occurs shortly after sunset, resulting in a full moon appearing in a partially lit sky.

Keep in mind that the exact timing of the moonrise and sunset will vary depending on your location.

Here is everything you need to know about the "Wolf Moon" and when to see it at its brightest and most impressive.

When is the wolf moon?

The full moon will occur at 4 p.m.聽MST on Friday, Jan. 6, 2023, if you are in Arizona and will reach peak brightness eight minutes after the hour mark.

However, the best time to view it will be at moonrise on Saturday, Jan. 7, 2023, as the sun will still be out on Friday when the moon first rises.

Stargazing destination:This new Arizona park will delight hikers and campers

Why is it called a wolf moon?

The "wolf moon" is named after the howling of wolves at night. It's thought that聽the name was brought over by English and Celtic settlers to North America聽and describes the increased activity of wolf packs during the early part of the year.

Other names for the full moon in January carry seasonal significance, such as the "Ice Moon," "Snow Moon" and "Moon After Yule."

When is the next full moon?

After January's wolf moon, the "snow moon" will be the next full moon on Feb. 5, 2023.

What are the other full moons of 2023?

There will be 13 full moons on display this year. Here is a list so you don't miss them:

  • Friday, Jan. 6.
  • Sunday, Feb. 5.
  • Tuesday, March 7.
  • Thursday, April 6.
  • Friday, May 5.
  • Saturday, June 3.
  • Monday, July 3.
  • Tuesday, Aug. 1.
  • Wednesday, Aug. 30.
  • Friday, Sept. 29.
  • Saturday, Oct. 28.
  • Monday, Nov. 27.
  • Tuesday, Dec. 26.

When is the next full moon on Friday the 13th?

The last time there was a full moon that fell on Friday the 13th was in 2019 for those of us who live in the Central, Mountain and Pacific time zones. The full moon actually landed on Saturday, Sept. 14, but folks were able to see it just before midnight on the 13th.

The next full moon on Friday the 13th isn't expected until Aug. 13, 2049.

Starry sites:These are Arizona's dark-sky cities and parks

View Comments