ARIZONA

When is the next full moon? What to know about February 2023 'snow moon'

Michael Salerno
Arizona Republic
View Comments

The second full moon of 2023 is not too far away. For sky watchers in the metro Phoenix area, February's "snow moon" will be visible in the night sky in the first week of February.

Moon watchers should be aware that the exact timing of the sunset and moonrise will vary depending on the location where they are.

Read on to find out what time to see the February 2023 full moon, why it's called the snow moon and a calendar of all the full moons of 2023.

When is the full moon in February 2023?

Peak illumination of the February 2023 full moon will occur at 11:30 a.m. MST on Sunday, Feb. 5.

For the best view of the snow moon, look for it the night before (Saturday, Feb. 4) or later on Sunday. It will reach its highest point in the sky around midnight, according to the Farmer's Almanac.

The best time to see the full moon is when moonrise occurs just before sunset. In Phoenix, moonrise is scheduled around 6:07 p.m. in the northeast on Feb. 5.

Why is the February full moon called the snow moon?

February's full moon is called the snow moon because of the heavy snowfall that typically occurs during the month. On average, February is the month with the greatest snowfall in the U.S., according to the National Weather Service.

Other names for the February full moon have animal connections, such as the bald eagle moon, black bear moon and groundhog moon.

Webb telescope's new images of Jupiter:How an Arizona scientist helped make them possible

When is the next full moon?

After February's snow moon, the next full moon is the worm moon on March 7.

What are all the full moons of 2023?

There will be 12 more full moons on display in 2023:

  • Sunday, Feb. 5
  • Tuesday, March 7
  • Thursday, April 6
  • Friday, May 5
  • Saturday, June 3
  • Monday, July 3
  • Tuesday, Aug. 1
  • Wednesday, Aug. 30
  • Friday, Sept. 29
  • Saturday, Oct. 28
  • Monday, Nov. 27
  • Tuesday, Dec. 26

Moon research:ASU spacecraft on NASA's Artemis mission will search for water on moon

Reach the reporter at聽[email protected]. Follow him on Twitter聽@salerno_phx.

Support local journalism.聽Subscribe to聽azcentral.com聽today.

View Comments